End of Year 2018 Show Case Screening & Awards

cropped-img_2535.jpg

On Friday 18th May 2018: myself, classmates, parents and lecturers attended the screening (held at the college) of our FMP (Final Major Project) this was an amazing opportunity not only for me but as well as my classmates to show their parents and our lecturers our final products that we have been working hard on since the launch of the FMP. 

The final major project was launched after February half term and the purpose of this project was about showing how far we have progressed since we started the media production course back in 2016 and demonstrating everything we have learnt over the past two years to apply to our FMP. Furthermore, we had to this project independently with minimal guidance and advice by our lecturers. 

Before the screening began, I was told by my lecturer (Lee Skinner) that the official photographer for the event would not be able to attend so I would be in charge of being the photographer. This was a privilege for me because I was able to take photos of everyone that attended the event so they can keep as memories when they reflect back on this unique day we had. 

During the screening everyone got a round of applause and congratulated each other for their creative final products. From my point of view, I really enjoyed watching everyone’s final products as each product I saw felt very unique and showed how passionate my classmates were about their project. Moreover, I learnt a lot about the techniques they used for their final products (especially the technical techniques :camera, soundtracks and editing) which I hope to use for future projects I create. 

After our break, we went back into the theatre to have an award ceremony. Lee explained that the awards were voted by classmates with the exception of some being personal choices by lecturers and the best FMP award being voted for by everyone. 

To my surprise, I won two awards which were the ‘most improved filmmaker’ and for ‘persistent effort’. I was surprised that I won these awards because I did not expect it all! However, I felt very happy with these two awards as my classmates recognised my hard work and effort that I put into my FMP. These two awards meant a lot to me personally because it represented how much my hard work, dedication and effort all payed off not only for this project but for the past two years. 

After the award ceremony me and my classmates had one huge group photo together which was taken by multiple parents and the lecturers. You will be able to see the group photo as the cover for my blog and below with photos of me with my classmates. 

To summarise my experience of the screening, it was amazing as I got the opportunity not only to show my parents what I had created, but to a group of people who really enjoyed watching my final product and winning two awards. This is making me even more motivated/determined to succeed in my future career path and aim even higher in my life. 

To view the final product I have created (Olympus) please see the link below and the photos I took at the screening. Once again please stay tuned to my blog for stuff to come…. 

Olympus My Final FMP Product

 

 

Leave a comment