Meeting Dan Perri the title designer of Star Wars, Taxi Driver and Close Encounters!

On Wednesday 9th October I met Dan Perri a title designer who is famous for creating title cards for films such as: Star Wars, Taxi Driver and more!

This guest event was arranged by my university (Ravensbourne University London). He talked about his experience in the industry as a title card designer and showed his showreel of the work he did.

His talk about the industry was really intresting espically his experience working on Star Wars. Dan talked about how tough it was to work with George Lucas as he had very high expectations and he also went through different drafts of the logo before finally desingning the iconic logo that is still used today.

Dan also sacastically joked about how much he hated Star Wars and that he thinks its for kids much to everyone’s amusement!

During the Q and A, I got the chance to ask him a question of how the industry would evolve with the rise of digital technology and will there be any other technology that suprasses digital.

He said that digitial technology is begining to be used a lot by the industry and the technology will cotinued to be refined to make it even better. Dan said he was unsure if digital could be surpassed but their might be a technology in the future that will surpass it eventually.

After his Q and A, I got the chance to have a brief chat with him and even got his signature too which I will definitely put in a frame!

This event was really cool to attend as I learned more about the film industry, what it was like to work with film director’s I admire and his in depth talk about how he designed the logos.

If your a film student, I definiatly reccomend attending event’s like this. As you will learn a lot about the industry and more!

As for me, I will definiatly be attending more of these events organised by my uni in the future and more!

Until then, see you on my next blog post!

Thanks!

Sammy

Leave a comment